DUI / DWI
DUI (Driving Under the Influence/DWI (Driving While Intoxicated)
The state of Louisiana has very strict laws and penalties about drunk driving and driving under the influence of drugs. If you have been arrested for DUI/DWI in the New Orleans Metropolitan area or anywhere else in Southern Louisiana, you should contact the New Orleans criminal defense law firm of Thornhill Law Firm, A PLC. right away.
Our attorneys have served the communities of the Greater New Orleans Area since 1978. We are committed to Seeking Justice for Our Clients. We can make sure that your legal rights are protected, prosecutors are treating you fairly, and none of your civil rights were violated during your arrest.
There may be a way to get the charges or penalties against you lowered or dropped so that you avoid a DWI conviction. There may be key evidence in your case that is inadmissible because of the way police procured it. There may be a way to reach a plea bargain or get your case thrown out. The only way to do this is to retain the services of an experienced Louisiana DUI/DWI law firm.
Louisiana DUI/DWI Laws
A person has just 15 days from the date of a DUI/DWI arrest to request a hearing with the Department of Public Safety and Corrections. Failure to ask for the hearing is grounds for an automatic license suspension. Many Louisiana residents, tourists, and visitors to the New Orleans area do not know this, which is another reason why it is so important that you contact one of our DUI/DWI lawyers right away.
If you are stopped by a Louisiana police officer because you are under suspicion of drunken driving or driving while under the influence of drugs and you refuse to take a Breathalyzer test, a blood test, or a urine test, your driver's license could be suspended for up to six months or more if this is not your first refusal.
For adults: If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is.08% or greater, you will be arrested for DWI and your license will be suspended.
For drivers under 21 years of age: You will be arrested for DWI if your BAC is at .02% or greater.
BAC of .15% or greater: You face a minimum mandatory 48 hours in jail.
Thornhill Law Firm, For the People
Our DUI/DWI lawyers know how to contest an administrative license suspension and check your case for defects or inaccuracies in test results. Even if this is your first offense, you do not want to try and navigate the Louisiana legal system alone.
If you are convicted of DUI/DWI even once, you will have earned a criminal record. A 3rd or 4th drunk driving offense turns a misdemeanor crime into a felony. The severity of the penalties for a drunk driving conviction will depend on whether or not it is your first offense and if anyone was injured or killed because you were driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Thornhill Law Firm, A PLC. represents DUI/DWI clients in New Orleans, Slidell, Franklinton, Mandeville, Gretna, Metaire, Pearl River, Kenner, Jefferson, St. Bernard, Covington, Madisonville, Chalmette, and other cities throughout Southern Louisiana.
To schedule your consultation with an experienced New Orleans, Louisiana DUI/DWI attorney, call Thornhill Law Firm, A PLC. at (800) 989-2707 or contact us online.